COVE Report – January 18, 2015

COVEReport logo2

 

Two Opportunities to Discuss Cityhood, Annexations & the County with Your Elected Officials! – Brought to you by COVE

Howard Mosby, Chair of the DeKalb Legislative Delegation

MosbyHoward175Thursday, January 22, 6:30 pm
Location: Home of Peter Sederberg & Jan Love, 873 Castle Falls Drive

As the chair of the legislative delegation, Rep. Mosby can provide us with insight on what to expect during the upcoming legislative session and how to make our voices heard. This meeting is for Victoria Estates residents and COVE guests.

Lee May, Interim CEO, DeKalb County

May 2Saturday, January 24, 12:30 pm
Location: Home of Pat & Scott Killingsworth, 1364 Rainier Falls Drive

As the interim CEO of DeKalb County, ICEO May will be presenting the county’s legislative agenda to the delegation on Monday, January 26. This is a chance to hear about it first-hand and discuss the agenda directly with the person creating it. ICEO May can also answer questions about county reform, improvement plans and challenges. This meeting is for Victoria Estates residents and COVE guests.

General Assembly will decide DeKalb issues | AJC Latest News

State lawmakers will likely give DeKalb County a good deal of their attention during this year’s leg…
http://news.blog.ajc.com/2015/01/12/general-assembly-will-decide-dekalb-issues/

Interim CEO May to Central DeKalb area: Unincorporated DeKalb County still a viable option

DeKalb County, GA, January 16, 2015 – by Trey Benton – Applause broke early out as Interim DeKalb County CEO Lee May… click for more    Click for video of meeting

Together in Atlanta

“Together In Atlanta is an effort by parents and residents from the neighborhoods near Emory University and within the Druid Hills High School attendance zone, seeking to achieve annexation into the City of Atlanta, with the public schools within the annexed area becoming part of Atlanta Public Schools and other preferred local governmental infrastructure, such as neighborhood planning units (NPUs), significantly improved law enforcement-to-resident ratios, leading-edge parks and greenspace, and substantially higher per-pupil funding (resulting in higher teacher salaries) due to Atlanta’s much stronger and more diverse tax base.” Together in Atlanta

DeKalb Strong

A newly formed organization is promoting a moratorium on new cities in DeKalb County.

“Worried about the chaotic process of forming new cities and annexation properties in DeKalb? Even though the map lines continue to shift and change, some proponents of new cities are still pushing for a vote as soon as possible, maybe even as early as this May.
Meanwhile, the effect that these new cities will have on taxes, schools, and quality of life are still unknown. Such serious and long-lasting decisions require far more study and thought!
We have formed an organization, DeKalb Strong, to fight against the new cities and annexations as they are constituted in 2015. If municipalization of the county is inevitable, the process should be reasonable, comprehensive, equitable, and feature involvement of affected citizenry: the current process is none of these.
There are many ways that you can help us! “
DeKalb Strong

Comparison of Remaining in Unincorporated DeKalb vs. Joining the City of Atlanta

The article features a comparison of tax burdens, services, schools, governance. Click here

Another comparison by DeKalb Strong Click here

Blueprint DeKalb

Blueprint DeKalb continues to work for reform to DeKalb county government through bills to be introduced in the 2015 legislative session. To sign onto the recommendations go to Blueprint DeKalb.  Also, be sure to thank Victoria Estates residents Martha Pacini and Pat Killingsworth for their many hours of effort on these recommendations!

Atlanta Regional Commission Survey

The Atlanta Regional Commission is asking how the region should address a future of rapid change and innovation. Your survey answers will help inform Regional Plan policy and how to respond to upcoming trends in technology. Click here

Write!

Express your views to the following individuals concerning Victoria Estates’ future. Current proposals for Victoria Estates are to remain unincorporated/moratorium on cityhood or annexation by the city of Atlanta.

DeKalb Delegation

GEORGIA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
http://www.house.ga.gov/Representatives/en-US/HouseMembersList.aspx
Stacey Abrams stacey.abrams@house.ga.gov, Karen Bennett karen.bennett@house.ga.gov, Dee Dawkins-Haigler dee.dawkins-haigler@house.ga.gov, Karla Drenner karla.drenner@house.ga.gov, Michele Henson michele.henson@house.ga.gov, Scott Holcomb scott.holcomb@house.ga.gov, Mike Jacobs mike.jacobs@house.ga.gov, Darshun Kendrick darshun.kendrick@house.ga.gov, Rahn Mayo rahn.mayo@house.ga.gov, Billy Mitchell billy.mitchell@house.ga.gov, Howard Mosby@house.ga.gov, Mary Margret Oliver mary.oliver@house.ga.gov, Tonia Peterson-Anderson mspete16@yahoo.com, Pamela Stephenson pamela.stephenson@house.ga.gov, Tom Taylor tom.taylor@house.ga.gov, Ernest Williams ernest.williams@house.ga.gov
GEORGIA SENATE
http://www.senate.ga.gov/senators/en-US/SenateMembersList.aspx
Gloria Butler gloria.butler@senate.ga.gov, Elena Parent elena.parent@senate.ga.gov, Gail Davenport gail.davenport@senate.ga.gov, Steve Henson stevehenson@mindspring.com, Emanuel Jones emanj@mindspring.com, Fran Millar fran.millar@senate.ga.gov, Ronald Ramsey ronald.ramsey@senate.ga.gov

Cityhood – House Governmental Affairs Committee

Chair Amy Carter (amy.carter@house.ga.gov), Vice Chair Buzz Brockway (buzz.brockway@house.ga.gov), Tyrone Brooks (tyrone.brooks@house.ga.gov), Barry Fleming (barry.fleming@house.ga.gov), Hugh Floyd (hughfloyd@mindspring.com), Mark Hamilton (mark.hamilton@house.ga.gov), Dustin Hightower (dustin.hightower@house.ga.gov), Kidd Culver (“Rusty”) (rusty.kidd@house.ga.gov), John Meadows (john.meadows@house.ga.gov), Alisha Morgan (alisha@alishamorgan.com), Howard Mosby (howard.mosby@house.ga.gov) DeKalb Delegation, Larry O’Neal (larry.oneal@house.ga.gov), Mary Margaret Oliver (mmo@mmolaw.com) DeKalb Delegation, Alan Powell (alanpowell23@hotmail.com), Jay Powell (jay.powell@house.ga.gov), Bruce Williamson (bruce.williamson@house.ga.gov)

Intragovernmental Coordination Committee – Deals with Annexation Efforts

Chair: Jan Tankersley jan.tankersley@house.ga.gov, Vice Chair: Jon Carson john.carson@house.ga.gov, Kevin Tanner kevin.tanner@house.ga.gov, Kimberly Alexander kimberly.alexander@house.ga.gov, Tonya Anderson tonya.anderson@house.ga.gov DeKalb Delegation, Simone Bell simone.bell@house.ga.gov, Patty Bentle patty.bentley@house.ga.gov, Bruce Broadrick bruce.broadrick@house.ga.gov, Brooks Coleman brooks.coleman@house.ga.gov, Demetrius Douglas demetrius.douglas@house.ga.gov, Ed Rynders erynders@bellsouth.net, Chuck Sims chuck.sims@house.ga.gov, Pam Stevenson pam.stephenson@house.ga.gov Dekalb Delegation, Brian Strickland brian.strickland@house.ga.gov

ATLANTA REPRESENTATIVES AND SENATORS NOT INCLUDED ON DEKALB DELEGATION LIST

House of Representatives: Simone Bell (simonebell2012@gmail.com), Roger Bruce (rbruce5347@aol.com), LaDawn Jones (ladawnbjones@gmail.com), Sheila Jones (sheila.jones@house.ga.gov), Margaret Kaiser (margaret.kaiser@house.ga.gov), Mable Thomas (ablemabledistrict56@gmail.com), Keisha Waites (keisha.waites@house.ga.gov), Joe Wilkinson (joe@joewilkinson.org)

Senate: Vincent Fort (vincent.fort@senate.ga.gov), Hunter Hill Hunter.Hill@senate.ga.gov ), Donzella James (donzella.james@senate.ga.gov), Nan Orrock (nan.orrock@senate.ga.gov), Horacena Tate(horacena.tate@senate.ga.gov

Legislation Email Guide

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *