COVEReport – February 28, 2014

COVEReport Logo

 

 

The Senate Approves Lakeside

Lakeside map

The Senate approved SB270 to form the city of Lakeside with Emory and Victoria Estates removed from its borders.

City-of-Lakeside-map-2-26-2014-1

Lakeside near VE

SB 270 – Act to incorporate the City of Lakeside in DeKalb County

How Senators Voted

Jason Carter Speech on the Senate Floor Referencing Victoria Estates

City Of Lakeside Passes Senate

February 27, 2014 – Dave Williams – Atlanta Business Chronicle

Lakeside, which could become Georgia’s newest city, made a big leap forward yesterday after passing the Senate by a vote of 32-17.

The Georgia Senate voted along party lines Wednesday for legislation that would set up a referendum on a proposed new city in northern DeKalb County.

Under the bill, which passed 32-17 and now moves to the state House of Representatives, voters would decide May 20 whether to form the city of Lakeside.

Unlike legislation the General Assembly has passed during the last decade that led to the creation of a series of new cities out of unincorporated portions of Atlanta’s northern suburbs, Lakeside essentially is competing with two other cityhood bills before the legislature. [more]

 

Legislation Update – Lakeside Faces Battle in House

Pat

 
 
February 28, 2014 – Pat Killingsworth  

Yesterday was not an official business day in the General Assembly.  Day 30 – Crossover Day – is scheduled for Monday (deadline for bills for 2014).  Calendars are attached below.

At the Town Hall meeting last night at Hawthorne Elementary school, Representatives Mary Margaret Oliver, Steve Holcomb and Michelle Henson filled in some of the gaps on the status of the cityhood legislation.  SB 270 has been assigned to the House Governmental Affairs committee (GAFF), and Chair Amy Carter plans to give the proposed cities of Lakeside, Briarcliff and Tucker each the opportunity to make a one-hour presentation to the committee.  There is a great deal of pressure being placed on the three city groups to participate in a mediation to resolve their border disputes, but nothing has been scheduled to date.  It is the current projection of all three legislators that, unless the boundary disputes are resolved, the only city likely to be signed into law is Tucker.

With regard to the school board,  HB 979 passed yesterday.  It reduced the number of school board districts to seven, and kept the current districts in place.  It abolished the two at-large school board seats. Qualification to run for office begins March 3rd.

HB 677 (creation of a new unnamed municipality) is on the House Governmental Affairs Committee (GAFF) agenda for consideration.  This is the placeholder bill for Tucker.

HB 675 is the placeholder for Briarcliff, and is not on the agenda.

HR 1330 (Dekalb Study Committee on Municipalities) is on the GAFF agenda for consideration.

Georgia House of Representatives Daily Report – Wednesday, February 26, 2014 – LD29-Wednesday_February_26_2014

SENATE RULES CALENDAR – TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 25, 2014 – Rules-Calendar-2014-Legislative-Day-28

House Governmental Affairs Committee meeting Agenda THURSDAY, February 27 – GAFF Agenda_02_28

 

Voice Your Opinion on Cityhood

Make the call

Monday the Georgia House will continue consideration on cityhood bills that impact Victoria Estates. Your feedback is crucial to impacting a potential vote.

Calls and emails should be directed to:

House Speaker Ralston – 404.656.5020 david.ralston@house.ga.gov

House Governmental Affairs committee (GAFF) Chair Amy Carter- 404.656.6801 amy.carter@house.ga.gov

GAFF Members

Rep. Buzz Brockway, Vice Chair – 404.656.0188 buzz.brockway@house.ga.gov

Rep. Darlene Taylor, Secretary – 404.656.0178 darlene.taylor@house.ga.gov

Rep. Dustin Hightower – 404.656.0152 dustin.hightower@house.ga.gov

Rep. Howard Mosby – 404.656.0287 howard.mosby@house.ga.gov

Rep. Barry Fleming – 404.656.0152 barry.fleming@house.ga.gov

Rep. Mary Margaret Oliver – 404.656.0265 mmo@mmolaw.com

Rep. Tyrone Brooks – 404.656.6372 tyrone.brooks@house.ga.gov

Rep. Larry O’Neal – 404.656.5052 larry.oneal@house.ga.gov

Rep. Hugh Floyd – 404.656.0314 hughfloyd@mindspring.com

Rep. Jay Powell – 404.656.7855 jay.powell@house.ga.gov

Rep. Rusty Kidd – 404.656.0202 rusty.kidd@house.ga.gov

Rep. Alan Powell- 404.463.3793 alanpowell23@hotmail.com

Rep. John Meadows – 404.656.5141 john.meadows@house.ga.gov

Rep. Bruce Williamson – 404.656.0152 bruce.williamson@house.ga.gov

Rep. Alisha Morgan – 404.656.0109 alisha@alishamorgan.com

Rep. Mark Hamilton – 404.656.5132 mark.hamilton@house.ga.gov

Dekalb State House Reps

 

DeKalb Zoning Code Update

martha

February 27, 2014

The latest version of the Zoning Code Update has been put on the county’s website:  http://planningdekalb.net/?page_id=1173

Those interested in this topic should download it from the site.  Comments from Druid Hills on the last version: SUMMARY LIST OF UNRESOLVED ISSSUES in the PROP ZO Nov 24 2013

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *